Billie Eilish, Finneas O’Connell to receive Palm Springs film award – Desert Sun

2 minutes, 53 seconds Read

Academy and Grammy Award-winning siblings Billie Eilish and Finneas O’Connell will receive the Chairman’s Award for their critically acclaimed song “What Was I Made For?” from “Barbie” at the Palm Springs International Film Awards.

The Film Awards will take place on Jan. 4, 2024, at the Palm Springs Convention Center, with the festival running through Jan. 15.

The song has been nominated for five Grammy Awards, as well as for best original song at the Golden Globe and Critics Choice awards.

“We are thrilled to present the prestigious Chairman’s Award to Billie Eilish and Finneas O’Connell for their celebrated original song ‘What Am I Made For?’ from ‘Barbie,'” Festival Chairman Nachhattar Singh Chandi said in a statement. “Billie and Finneas, with their unparalleled talent, have created a beautiful and ethereal ballad that perfectly evokes the poignancy of the journey Margot Robbie’s ‘Barbie’ takes in the film. The Palm Springs International Film Festival proudly honors these visionary artists for their award-worthy musical contribution.”

Find & reserve investment properties in
Turkey or Dubai from the comfort of 
your home. 

Billie Eilish

Since the release of her debut single “Ocean Eyes” in 2015, Eilish has shattered the musical ceiling with her genre-defying sound. Her first album, “When We All Fall Asleep, Where Do We Go?” debuted at No. 1 on the Billboard 200 in the U.S as well as in 17 additional countries around the world upon release in 2019, and it was the most-streamed album of that year. Her sophomore album, “Happier Than Ever,” also debuted at No. 1 on the Billboard 200 in the U.S. and in 19 countries across the globe in 2021.

Both albums were written, produced and recorded entirely by Eilish and her brother O’Connell.

The singer made history as the youngest artist to receive nominations and wins in all the major categories at the 62nd Grammy Awards (Best New Artist, Album of the Year, Record of the Year, Song of the Year and Best Pop Vocal Album). She is also the youngest artist to write and record an official James Bond theme song, “No Time To Die.” Eilish and O’Connell won an Academy Award and Golden Globe for best original song.

This summer, she completed her sold-out “Happier Than Ever, The World Tour,” and she is currently working on her third studio album. In 2022, she headlined the Coachella Valley Music and Arts Festival and was joined on stage by her brother, who also performed his own set at the festival.

Finneas O’Connell

O’Connell introduced a heartfelt and hypnotic style on the extended play “Blood Harmony,” which was highlighted by the gold-certified “Let’s Fall in Love for the Night.” In 2021, he released his debut album, “The Optimist.”

He has composed original scores for the films “The Fallout” and “Vengeance.” The siblings also wrote music for the boyband 4*Town in the animated film “Turning Red.”

Past recipients of the Chairman’s Award include Amy Adams, Jessica Chastain, Viola Davis, George Clooney, Matt Damon, Tom Hanks, Jennifer Hudson, Nicole Kidman, Regina King, Gary Oldman, Joaquin Phoenix and Reese Witherspoon.

Eilish and O’Connell join this year’s previously announced honorees “Killers of the Flower Moon” (Vanguard Award), Emma Stone (Desert Palm Achievement Award, Actress), Cillian Murphy (Desert Palm Achievement Award, Actor), Da’Vine Joy Randolph (Breakthrough Performance Award), Greta Gerwig (Director of the Year Award), Jeffrey Wright (Career Achievement Award), Carey Mulligan (International Star Award, Actress), Colman Domingo (Spotlight Award, Actor) and Danielle Brooks (Spotlight Award, Actress).

Ema Sasic covers entertainment and health in the Coachella Valley. Reach her at [email protected] or on Twitter @ema_sasic.

This post was originally published on this site



Rumi Awards is an AI enabled media & awards platform launched in April 2013

Similar Posts