Cesar Nominations: ‘Anatomy of a Fall,’ ‘The Animal Kingdom’ Lead the Pack for French Film Awards – Hollywood Reporter

5 minutes, 49 seconds Read

Justine Triet’s Oscar-nominated Anatomy of a Fall and Thomas Cailley’s fantasy drama The Animal Kingdom are the front runners for this year’s Cesar Awards, France’s equivalent to the Academy Awards. In nominations announced Wednesday, Anatomy picked up 11 Cesar noms and The Animal Kingdom 12. Both were nominated in the best film and best director categories.

Also nominated for best film are Jean-Baptiste Durand’s Junkyard Dog, All Your Faces from director Jeanne Herry and Cédric Kahn’s The Goldman Case.

France’s official Academy Award contender, Anh Hung Tran’s foodie period drama The Taste of Things, which missed out on an Oscar nom on Tuesday, picked up three Ceasar nominations, but none in the main categories.

Related Stories

German actress Sandra Hüller, a best actress nominee at this year’s Oscars for her starring turn in Anatomy of a Fall, is also up for the Cesar for best actress, going up against Oscar winner Marion Cotillard, nominated for Little Girl Blue, Lea Drucker, up for Last Summer, Hafsia Herzi, nominated for The Rapture, and Belgian actress Virginie Efira, nominated for her work in Just the Two of Us.

Find & reserve investment properties in
Turkey or Dubai from the comfort of 
your home. 

The 2024 Cesar Awards will be handed out at a ceremony in Paris on Friday, Feb. 23.

Oscar frontrunner Oppenheimer picked up a single Cesar nomination, in the best foreign film category, but Oppenheimer director Christopher Nolan is guaranteed a trophy. The British director will receive an honorary Cesar for lifetime achievement at this year’s ceremony.

2024 Cesar Nominations

Best Film

Anatomy of a Fall produced by Marie-Ange Luciani, David Thion, directed by Justine Triet

Junkyard Dog produced by Anais Bertrand, directed by Jean-Baptiste Durand

All Your Faces produced by Hugo Selignac, Alain Attal, directed by Jeanne Herry

The Goldman Case produced by Benjamin Elalouf, directed by Cédric Kahn

Animal Kingdom produced by Pierre Guyard, directed by Thomas Cailley

Best Director

Justine Triet for Anatomy of a Fall

Catherine Breillat for Last Summer

Jeanne Herry for All Your Faces

Cédric Khan for The Goldman Case

Thomas Cailley for Animal Kingdom

Best Actress

Marion Cotillard for Little Girl Blue

Léa Drucker for Last Summer

Virginie Efira for Just the Two of Us

Hafsia Herzi for The Rapture

Sandra Hüller for Anatomy of a Fall

Best Actor

Romain Duris for Animal Kingdom

Benjamin Lavernhe for Abbé Pierre: A Century of Devotion

Melvil Poupaud for Just the Two of Us

Raphaël Quenard for Yannick

Arieh Worthalter for The Goldman Case

Best Supporting Actress

Leïla Bekhti for All Your Faces

Galatea Bellugi for Junkyard Dog

Élodie Bouchez for All Your Faces

Adèle Exarchopoulos for All Your Faces

Miou Miou for All Your Faces

Best Supporting Actor

Swann Arlaud for Anatomy of a Fall

Anthony Bajon for Junkyard Dog

Arthur Harari for The Goldman Case

Pio Marmaï for Yannick

Antoine Reinartz for Anatomy of a Fall

Best Newcomer Actress

Céleste Brunnquell for No Love Lost

Kim Higelin for Consent

Suzanne Jouannet for La Voie Royale

Rebecca Marder for Grand Expectations

Ella Rumpf for Marguerite’s Theorem

Best Newcomer Actor

Julien Frison in Marguerite’s Theorem

Paul Kircher for Animal Kingdom

Samuel Kircher for Last Summer

Ivilo Machado-Graner for Anatomy of a Fall

Raphaël Quenard for Junkyard Dog

Best Original Screenplay

Justine Triet, Arthur Harari for Anatomy of a Fall

Jean-Baptiste Durand for Junkyard Dog

Jeanne Herry for All Your Faces

Nathalie Hertzberg, Cédric Kahn for The Goldman Case

Thomas Cailley, Pauline Munier for Animal Kingdom

Best Adapted Screenplay

Valerie Donzelli, Audrey Diwan for Just the Two of Us

Vanessa Filho for Consent

Catherine Breillat for Last Summer

Best Original Score

Gabriel Yared for Just the Two of Us

Delphine Malaussena for Junkyard Dog

Vitalic for Disco Boy

Andrea Laszlo de Simone for Animal Kingdom

Guillaume Roussel for The Three Musketeers (Part 1: D’Artagnan / Part 2: Milady

Best Sound

Julien Sicart, Fanny Martin, Jeanne Delplancq, Olivier Goinard for Anatomy of a Fall

Remi Daru, Guadalupe Cassius, Loic Prian, Marc Doisne for All Your Faces

Erwan Kerzanet, Sylvian Malbrant, Olivier Guillaume for The Goldman Case

Fabrice Osinkski, Raphael Sohier, Matthieu Fichet, Niels Barletta for Animal Kingdom

David Rit, Gwennole le Borgne, Oliver Touche, Cyril Holtz, Niels Barletta for The Three Musketeers (Part 1: D’Artagnan / Part 2: Milady

Best Cinematography

Slivion Beaufils for Anatomy of a Fall

Jonathan Ricquebourg for The Taste of Things

Patrick Ghiringhelli for The Goldman Case

Davio Cailley for Animal Kingdom

Nicolas Bolduc for The Three Musketeers (Part 1: D’Artagnan / Part 2: Milady)

Best Editing

Laurent Sénéchal for Anatomy of a Fall

Francis Vesin for All Your Faces

Valérie Loiseleux for Little Girl Blue

Yann Dedet for The Goldman Case

Lilian Corbeille for Animal Kingdom

Best Costume Design

Jürgen Doering for Jeanne du Barry

Pascaline Chavanne for The Crime is Mine

Tran Nu Yên Khê for The Taste of Things

Ariane Daurat for Animal Kingdom

Thierry Delettre for The Three Musketeers (Part 1: D’Artagnan / Part 2: Milady)

Best Production Design

Emmanuelle Ouplay for Anatomy of a Fall

Angelo Zamparutti for Jeanne du Barry

Toma Baquéni for The Taste of Things

Julia Lemaire for Animal Kingdom

Stéphane Taillasson for The Three Musketeers (Part 1: D’Artagnan / Part 2: Milady)

Best Visual Effects

Thomas Duval for Acid

Lise Fischer, Cédric Fayolle for The Mountain

Cyrille Bonjean, Bruno Sommier, Jean-Louis Autret for Animal Kingdom

Olivier Cauwet for The Three Musketeers (Part 1: D’Artagnan / Part 2: Milady)

Léo Ewald for Vermin

Best Short Film

L’Attente directed by Alice Douard, produced by Marie Boitard, Alice Douaro

Bolero directed by Nans Laborde-Jourdaa, produced by Margaux Lorier

Rapide directed by Paul Rigoux, produced by Anne Luthaud

Les Silencieux directed by Basile Vuillemin, produced by Thomas Guent Ch

Best Animated Feature

No Dogs or Italians Allowed directed by Alain Ughetto, produced by Alexandre Cornu, Jean-François Le Corre, Mathieu Courtois

Chicken for Linda! directed by Chiara Malta, Sébastien Laudenbach, produced by Marc Irmer, Emmanuel-Alain Raynal, Pierre Baussaron

Mars Express directed by Jérémie Périn, produced by Didier Creste

Best Documentary

Atlantic Bar directed by Fanny Molins, produced by Chloé Servel, Nicolas Tiry

Four Daughters directed by Kaouther Ben Hania, produced by Nadim Cheikhrouha

Little Girl Blue directed by Mona Achache, produced by Laetitia Gonzalez, Yaël Fogiel

Our Body directed by Claire Simon, produced by Kristina Larsen

On the Adamant directed by Nicolas Philibert, produced by Miléna Poylo, Gilles Sacuto, Céline Loiseau

Best First Feature

Bernadette directed by Léa Domenach, produced by Antoine Rein, Fabrice Goldstein

Junkyard Dog directed by Jean-Baptiste Ourand, produced by Anaïs Bertrand

The Rapture directed by Iris Kaltenbäck, produced by Alice Bloch, Thierry de Clermont-Tonnerre

Vermin directed by Sébastien Vanicek, produced by Harry Tordjman

Vincent Must Die directed by Stephan Casting, produced by Thierry Lounas, Claire Bonnefoy

Best Foreign Film

Kidnapped directed by Marco Bellocchio

Fallen Leaves directed by Aki Kaurismaki

Oppenheimer directed by Christopher Nolan

Perfect Days directed by Wim Wenders

The Nature of Love directed by Monia Chokri

This post was originally published on this site



Rumi Awards is an AI enabled media & awards platform launched in April 2013

Similar Posts