Henderson County Life: League honors video makers, Francee … – Hendersonville Lightning

League honors video makers, Francee Sherman award winner

Shown are League of Women Voters president Brenda Sherrer, Aunica Tomlinson, Rugby Middle School principal John McDaris, Ari Nichols, Khloe Labruno, Lauren Koch and League member Susan LaBorde.

The League of Women Voters Henderson County this month announced the winners of its 2022 Student Video Contest for Middle School students and announced its top student scholarship winner.

First prize of $250 Amazon gift card was awarded to Ari Nichols of Rugby Middle School. Second prize, a $100 Amazon gift card, was awarded to two tied entries, also from Rugby Middle School: Aunica Tomlinson and the team of Lauren Koch and Khloe Labruno. Third place went to Caleb Marshall of Flat Rock Middle School.

The contest invited public and private school participants to create original short videos clearly and creatively informing how we can all do our part to keep our county clean. Judges were Graham Fields, assistant to the president of Advent Health and chair of Chamber of Commerce Education Committee; Jeff Jennings, president of ECO and a founder of Friends of DuPont Forest; and Lucy Butler, who serves on the Henderson County Environment Advisory Committee and is a co- lead volunteer with Mountain True’s water quality program. Supporters included Sherman’s Sporting Goods, Kilwin’s, Pinball Museum on Main Street, Celtic Creamery, Mills River Creamery, Team ECCO Aquarium and Shark Tank, Elijah Mountain Gem Mine, Marco’s Pizza and Second Act Coffee Shop.

EvieCornEvie CornThe League also honored a recent North Henderson High School graduate as its Francee Sherman Student Award winner during its annual meeting on June 15 at First United Methodist Church. Evie Corn won the $1,000 scholarship, which is given annually to a high school senior who demonstrates commitment and achievement in support of the League’s mission of Empowering Voters, Defending Democracy. Corn was chosen based on her academic achievement, teacher recommendations and commitment to engaging young voters in the democratic process.

Keynote speaker during the meeting was Dr. Steven Crane, whose talk focused on “Health Equity: How Can We improve Health Outcomes for Everyone?” Ernest Mowell was installed as president and Mary Kay Krokowsi as secretary.  League members also thanked Karen Hebb, director of the Henderson County Board of Elections, for more than 30 years of service to the voters of Henderson County.

This post was originally published on this site