Hospital Boards Present Community Service Awards | Health Hive – Health Hive

(Photo at left) Michael and Nancy Griffin are the recipients of the 2022-2023 Canton-Potsdam Hospital (CPH) Board of Directors Community Service Award. Accepting the award on their behalf are St. Lawrence Health and CPH President Donna McGregor, and CPH Board Chair Mark Cornett.

(Photo at right) The Gouverneur Police Department is the recipient of the 2022-2023 Gouverneur Hospital (GH) Board of Directors Community Service Award. (L to R) GH President Kathy Schleider, GH Board Chair Andrew Leonard, Gouverneur Chief of Police Laurina Greenhill, and St. Lawrence Health President Donna McGregor.


CANTON, NY – The Board of Directors’ from St. Lawrence Health’s (SLH) three hospitals recently presented their 2022-2023 Community Service Awards to well-deserving and dedicated North Country recipients.

The Canton-Potsdam Hospital Board (CPH) honored Michael and Nancy Griffin, the Gouverneur Hospital (GH) Board recognized the Gouverneur Police Department, and the Massena Hospital (MH) Board honored the Massena Free Clinic.

The Community Service Award is the highest honor bestowed by each hospital board, and is given to individuals or organizations that have improved the health of communities in our region.

“Those being recognized live and actively demonstrate commitment to their core. A commitment to those they serve, and to their counterparts who serve alongside them,” said President of St. Lawrence Health and Canton-Potsdam Hospital Donna McGregor. “As an organization, we cannot provide health care with bricks and mortar alone; it takes a team of selfless individuals who make personal sacrifices every day for the betterment of others.

“CPH award recipients Michael and Nancy Griffin have given an endless amount back into the local communities they cherish so much. Together, they selflessly created the Joseph G. Nestich Scholarship at SUNY Potsdam, which supports educational opportunities for non-traditional students,”

Ms. McGregor noted.

Furthermore, Mrs. Griffin has been a recipient of the Rotary Club of Potsdam’s Service Above Self Award, and several recognitions through SUNY Potsdam, including the Distinguished Service Award, the President’s Award for Excellence in Professional Service and Community Service, and the Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Professional Service. Additionally, she has received Honorary Lifetime Membership in the SUNY Potsdam Alumni Association, and is a volunteer of the Potsdam Holiday Fund, and Potsdam Kiwanis Club. She is also a member of St. Lawrence Health’s Foundation Board of Directors, and North Country Children’s Museum Board of Directors.

Mr. Griffin has been honored with the Rotary Club of Potsdam’s Paul Harris Fellow Award three different times, is a past president of the Club, and is a long-time Board member. He is currently the Vice Chair of Canton-Potsdam Hospital’s Board of Directors, a member of the Potsdam Holiday Fund Board, and member of the Bayside Cemetery Association Board.

Gouverneur Hospital President Kathy Schleider noted the Gouverneur Police Department may be small, but they are quick to respond to Hospital requests and remain on-site for as long as necessary to ensure a situation is thoroughly resolved.

“Whether they are leading the rescue squad through town, or escorting an individual off Hospital grounds, these officers go above and beyond to ensure our community is safe and our Hospital is a safe place to receive care,” Ms. Schleider said. “Through their mission to preserve and protect the citizenry and property of the residents of the Village of Gouverneur, we are humbled and grateful for the exceptional service they provide each and every day.”

Massena Hospital President David Bender noted the decision to select the Massena Free Clinic as the recipient of this year’s Award rose to the top of the nomination pile.

“Established in 1999 as a free medical clinic for adults, the organization’s goal has always been to provide primary healthcare to as many ‘un’ and ‘under’ insured adults as possible,” Mr. Bender said. “Originally a vision of the late Dr. Sateesh Goswami, the Clinic was made a reality through the leadership and fortitude of Dr. Nimesh Desai and Dr. Jayant Jhaveri, along with the collaborative efforts of many local medical professionals, businesses, religious organizations, service clubs, and volunteers.

“Today we honor the Massena Free Clinic for the many ways it and its supporters have enhanced care within our community,” he added.

Award winners are chosen by each hospital’s Board of Directors from a slate of nominees.

This post was originally published on this site