India Announces National Film Awards: Alia Bhatt-Kriti Sanon Are Best Actors, ‘Rocketry’ Best Film – Forbes

The Indian ministry of information and broadcasting announced the 69th National Film Awards and the winners’ list included quite a few popular stars. While Alia Bhatt and Kriti Sanon together bagged the best actor (female)’s award, Allu Arjun got the award for the best actor (male). The Indian sensation, RRR, also bagged several awards in the technical section.

Written and directed by R Madhavan, Rocketry: The Nambi Effect won the Best feature film award in the Feature Film category while Srishti Lakhera’s Ek Tha Gaon bagged the award in the Best Non-Feature Film category.

The Kashmir Files has been awarded with Nargis Dutt Award for Best Feature Film on National Integration, while RRR has bagged the Award for Best Popular Film Providing Wholesome Entertainment. The Special Jury Award was given to Vishnu Varadhan’s Shershaah. Shoojit Sircar’s Sardar Udham was adjuged as the Best Hindi Film.

The Assamese film Anunaad-The Resonance bagged the award for Best Film on Social Issues. The award for the Best Film on Environment Conservation was given to the Malayalam film Aavasavyuham. Gandhi & Co, made in the Gujarati language, bagged the Best Children’s Film. Nikhil Mahajan won the Best Director’s award for his Marathi film Godavari.

Apart from the Best Actor (Female) award, Sanjay Leela Bhansali’s Gangubai Kathiawadi also bagged four other awards, including the award for Best Screenplay writer (Adapted) – Sanjay Leela Bhansali & Utkarshini Vashishtha, Best Dialogue Writer (Utkarshini Vashishtha & Prakash Kapadia), Best Editor (Bhansali), and Best Make-up artist (Preetisheel Singh D’souza).

SS Rajamouli’s global sensation RRR also bagged a few awards at the National Film Awards in India. Kaala Bhairavaa won the Best Playback Singer (Male) award for the song Komuram Bheemudo. Golden Globe-winner MM Keeravani also won the award for the Best Music Director. The historic epic saga also won awards in the Best Special Effects (V Srinivas Mohan), Best Choreography (Prem Rakshith), and Best Action Direction Award/Stunt Choreography (King Soloman) categories.

Tripathi recently lost his father. He responded to the National Film Award win via a statement which said that unfortunately it is a period of “loss and grieving” for him and added that his father would have been happy he were around. The OMG 2 actor also recalled how “proud and pleased” his dad was when he bagged his first National Film Award for his 2017 Hindi film Newton. “This National Award I dedicate to him and his spirit. I’m who I’m today because of him. I’m in loss of words due to this time but I’m happy and grateful to the team. Kriti Sanon also has won the Best Actress, so a huge congratulations to her.”

Filmmaker Vivek Agnihotri, who directed The Kashmir Files, shared his excitement and gratitude via a video statement that he shared. Currently is in the US and woke up to the news that his film won two National Film Awards. “I dedicate the award to all victims of terrorism, on behalf of the team of I Am Buddha (his production house). The film is the pain and voice of all the victims of terrorism, and therefore the award belongs to them.”

Complete list of winners:

Feature Film Category

Best Mishing Film- Boomba Ride

Best Assamese Film- Anur

Best Bengali Film- Kalkkoho

Best Hindi Film- Sardar Udham

Best Kannada Film- 777 Charlie

Best Gujarati Film- Chello Show

Best Maithili Film- Samanantar

Best Marathi Film- Ekda Kay Zala

Best Malayalam Film- Home

Special Jury Award- Shershaah

Best Child Artist- Bhavin Rabari, Chhello Show

Indira Gandhi Award for Best Debut Film of a Director- Meppadiyan, Vishnu Mohan

Best Film on Social Issues- Anunaad-The Resonance

Best Film on Environment Conservation/Preservation- Aavasavyuham

Best Children’s Film- Gandhi and Co

Best Screenplay (Original)- Shahi Kabir, Nayattu

Best Screenplay (Adapted)- Sanjay Leela Bhansali & Utkarshini Vashishtha, Gangubai Kathiawadi

Best Dialogue Writer- Utkarshini Vashishtha & Prakash Kapadia, Gangubai Kathiawadi

Best Music Director (Songs) – Devi Sri Prasad, Pushpa

Best Music Direction (Background Music)- MM Keeravaani, RRR

Best Editing- Sanjay Leela Bhansali for Gangubai Kathiawadi

Best Supporting Actress- Pallavi Joshi for The Kashmir Files

Best Supporting Actor- Pankaj Tripathi for Mimi

Best Actress- Alia Bhatt for Gangubai Kathiawadi, Kriti Sanon for Mimi

Best Actor – Allu Arjun for Pushpa: The Rise

Best Film on National Integration- The Kashmir Files

Best Popular Film Providing Wholesome Entertainment – RRR

Best Feature Film – Rocketry: The Nambi Effect

Non-Feature Films category

Best Narration/Voice over – Kulada Kumar Bhattacharjee (HatiBondhu)

Best Music Direction – Ishaan Divecha (Succulent)

Best Editing – Abhro Banerjee (If Memory Serves Me Right)

Best Production Sound Recordist (Location/Sync Sound) – Suruchi Sharma (Meen Raag)

Best Audiography (Re-recordist) – Unni Krishnan (Ek Tha Gaon)

Best Cinematography – Bittu Rawat (Paatal-Tee)

Best Direction – Bakul Matiyani (Smile Please)

Best Film On Family Values – Chand Saanse

Best Short Fiction Film – Daal Bhat (Gujarati)

Special Jury – Rekha (Marathi Film)

Best Animation Film – Kandittundu (Malayalam)

Best Investigative Film – Looking For Challan (English)

Best Exploration/Adventurous Film – Ayushman (English, Kannada)

Best Educational Film – Sirpigalin Sirpangal (Tamil)

Best Film On Social Issues – Mithu Di (Marathi) and Three Two One (Marathi & Hindi)

Best Environmental Film – Munnam Valavu (Malayalam)

Best Promotional Film – Endangered Heritage ‘Warli Art’

Best Science and Technology Film – Ethos Of Darkness

Best Arts/Cultural Film – T.N. Krishnan Bow Strings To Divine

This post was originally published on this site