Jasmine Moore & Trinity Thomas head to L.A. for 2023 Honda … – Florida Gators

LOS ANGELES, Calif. – It’s double representation for the University of Florida at The Collegiate Women’s Sports Award ceremonies. Gator track & field star Jasmine Moore and standout gymnast Trinity Thomas are in Los Angeles, as the duo joins the other sport winners for The Collegiate Women Sports Award presented by Honda show. The Honda Sports Award is given annually to the top women athletes in 12 NCAA-sanctioned sports.
On Monday’s broadcast from UCLA’s Pauley Pavilion, the 12 sport winners from 12 different schools are narrowed to three finalists. One receives the Honda Cup as the Collegiate Woman Athlete of the Year.
One Gator has twice been named the top collegiate female athlete of the year. Gator Great swimmer Tracy Caulkins shared the 1983-84 Broderick Cup (previous name of award) with Southern California’s Cheryl Miller and also won as a freshman in 1981-82.
Since 2010, the sport award recipients are narrowed to a final three, from which The Collegiate Woman of the Athlete of the Year is named. Two Gators – Lauren Haeger (2015/softball) and Thomas (2022/gymnastics) – were among the final three for the honor. Thomas is the only final three athlete returning from the 2022 CWSA event.
A Gator has been named their sport’s winner 28 times since 1978, which is third among the 111 programs with at least one Honda Award recipient. A Gator has claimed at least one Honda Award in eight different sports – the largest array among all programs.
Want to Watch? Here’s How:
The Collegiate Women Sports Award presented by Honda airs Monday, June 26 at 8:30 p.m. ET on CBS Sports Network.
Here’s how to tune in:
269 – Cox Cable (Gainesville/Ocala)
158 – Dish Network
CBS Sports Network app
How were the two Gators selected?
After the conclusion of each of the 12 recognized sport seasons, the Honda Sport Award sends a ballot with four sport finalists to administrators from over 1,000 NCAA member schools. Each NCAA member institution has a vote.
Moore joins Yanis David (2019) as the two Gators to win the Honda Award for track & field.
A Gator gymnast has claimed the Honda Award seven of the last 12 years. Gator Greats Bridget Sloan (2013, 2016), Kytra Hunter (2012, 2015), Alex McMurtry (2017) and Thomas (2022, 2023) also received the Honda Award for gymnastics. The first Gator gymnast to receive the honor was Ann Woods in 1982.
Moore’s 2023 Season
Moore established herself among the short list of four women to clear 15m in the triple jump and 7m in the long jump.

  • Set collegiate and NCAA meet records to claim each of her three 2023 NCAA Championships titles: indoor triple jump (15.12m / 49.7.25″), indoor long jump (7.03m / 23’0.75″) and outdoor triple jump (14.78m / 48.6″).
  • Seven NCAA event titles in last two seasons: long jump (2022 in & out; 2023 in) and triple jump 2022 in & out; 2023 in & out)
  • 2022 & 2023 U.S. Track & Field/Cross Country Coaches Association National Female Indoor Field Athlete of the Year and 2023 USTFCCCA Outdoor Field Athlete of the Year
  • 2022 & 2023 Southeastern Conference Indoor and Outdoor Field Athlete of the Year
  • Swept 2022 and 2023 SEC indoor and outdoor long and triple jump titles
  • 10-time USTFCCCA first-team All-American.
  • Medaled in every NCAA Championships horizontal jump contested as a Gator
  • 2023 NCAA Indoor performance marked the first time a woman cleared 15m in the triple jump and 7m in the long jump in the same meet. One of four women in indoor or outdoor jumps to ever clear those marks.

Thomas’ 2023 Season
In 2023, Thomas led the nation for the third consecutive season for perfect 10.0s – 2021 (4), 2022 (12) and 2023 (8).
· Career NCAA 10.0 co-leader. Earned 28th perfect mark in NCAA Championships team final vault competition to help Florida to a runner-up finish
· One of three in nation with five 2023 Women’s Collegiate Gymnastics Association (WCGA) All-America regular-season honors. First team for all-around, uneven bars and floor exercise; second team vault and balance beam
· All-America first-team honors for vault and uneven bars in NCAA Championships semifinal. Competed only two events due to injury suffered in NCAA Regional second round.
· 2023 Southeastern Conference Gymnast of Year. Joins Alabama’s Andreé Pickens as only three-time recipients in award’s history.
· SEC all-around (39.80), uneven bars and floor exercise (10.0) champion. Part of All-SEC team
· One of two in SEC Championship meet history with two 10.0 in a single meet.
· Only gymnast in NCAA history with at least five 10.0s on each apparatus for five career Gym Slams
· Florida’s career all-arounder leader (30), passing Bridget Sloan (27) with win vs Missouri
· Led Florida in 2023 with 29 event wins (9 floor, 7 bars, vault, 5 all-around & vault, 3 beam). Florida’s career leader with 142 event titles

2022-23 Honda Sports Award Recipients
Each season, The Collegiate Women Sports Awards program recognizes the top collegiate female student-athlete in 12 sports. Below are the 2022-23 recipients: 
Sport Name Yr School
Basketball Caitlin Clark JR Iowa
Cross Country Katelyn Tuohy SO North Carolina State
Field Hockey Erin Matson GR North Carolina
Golf Rose Zhang SO Stanford
Gymnastics Trinity Thomas GR Florida
Lacrosse Izzy Scane GR Northwestern
Soccer Lilly Reale SO UCLA
Softball Montana Fouts GR Alabama
Swimming/Diving Kate Douglass JR Virginia
Tennis Fiona Crawley JR North Carolina
Track & Field Jasmine Moore SR Florida
Volleyball Logan Eggleston SR Texas

Honda Contributes to Each School:
American Honda Motor Co., Inc., sponsor of the program, celebrates each nominee by donating $5,000 to each Honda Sports Award recipient school and $1,000 to each nominee school.

Gator Honda Sports Award Recipients
Name Sport Year
Jasmine Moore Track & Field 2023
Trinity Thomas Gymnastics 2023
Trinity Thomas Gymnastics 2022
Yanis David Track & Field 2019
Rhamat Alhassan Volleyball 2018
Belinda Woolcock Tennis 2017
Alex McMurtry Gymnastics 2017
Kelly Barnhill Softball 2017
Bridget Sloan Gymnastics 2016
Lauren Haeger Softball 2015
Kytra Hunter Gymnastics 2015
Bridget Sloan Gymnastics 2013
Kytra Hunter Gymnastics 2012
Kelsey Bruder Softball 2011
Caroline Burckle Swimming 2008
Danielle Fotopoulos Soccer 1998
Jill Craybas Tennis 1996
Nicole Haislett Swimming 1994
Lisa Raymond Tennis 1993
Lisa Raymond Tennis 1992
Shaun Stafford Tennis 1988
Page Dunlap Golf 1986
Deb Richard Golf 1985
Tracy Caulkins Swimming 1984^
Tracy Caulkins Swimming 1983
Tracy Caulkins Swimming 1982^
Ann Woods Gymnastics 1982
Renee Laravie Swimming 1978
^Recipient of Broderick Award (previous name of Collegiate
Woman Athlete of the Year Award

Florida is No. 3 all-time with 28 Honda Award recipients. Gator winners in eight sports leads all programs (Texas and UCLA each with winners in seven different sports).
Visit The Collegiate Women Sports Awards website for more information about this award.

Print Friendly Version

This post was originally published on this site