Jelly Roll, Lainey Wilson, Kelsea Ballerini, more lead 2024 CMT Music Awards nominees – The Leaf-Chronicle

4 minutes, 55 seconds Read

Nominations for April 7’s CMT Music Awards showcase how country music is perpetually a blessing for its artists and fans — plus, it is unquestionably cool again.

CMT has unveiled the fan-voted nominations for 2024’s event, which will be hosted by Kelsea Ballerini and air live from Austin, Texas’ Moody Center from 8:00-11:00 p.m. ET/PT on CBS and available to stream live and on-demand on Paramount+.

Voting is now open at

Lainey Wilson and Jelly Roll celebrate multiple No. 1 singles at BMI party at Tin Roof's Music Row location, Feb. 22, 2024

Top nominees Cody Johnson, Jelly Roll, Kelsea Ballerini, Lainey Wilson, and Megan Moroney split the lead with three nominations each.

Find & reserve investment properties in
Turkey or Dubai from the comfort of 
your home. 

In 2023, Jelly Roll was the night’s most-awarded artist (3 wins); in 2022, Cody Johnson held the same title (2 wins).

Upon being nominated, in 2023, Jelly Roll offered the following to The Tennessean:

“For a long time, people have been wanting to see an underdog like myself pull something off. However, even if me and my fans don’t win, we’ve already won — a nomination calls for a celebration.”

Jelly Roll accepts the award for Male Video of the Year at the CMT Awards at the Moody Center on Sunday, April 2, 2023, in Austin, Texas.

With three victories, Jelly Roll stole the show at 2023’s festivities.

One year prior, Cody Johnson’s 2022 CMT Male Video of the Year award win prompted him to humbly state “God bless country music” while receiving the honor.

The statement became a song title for his 2023-released album “Leather.”

“I’ve been fighting for country music ever since I was driving a van with a trailer attached to play at small bars in Texas,” Johnson stated to The Tennessean.

Cody Johnson accepts his award during the CMT Artists of the Year at Nashville Symphony Schermerhorn Symphony Center in Nashville , Tenn., Wednesday, Oct. 12, 2022.

Fourteen first-time nominees join the quintet listed above. Those include a diverse array of artists, including Amber Riley, Ashley Cooke, Bret Michaels, Chayce Beckham, Hozier, Koe Wetzel, Stephen Wilson Jr., Tyler Childers, Warren Zeiders and Zach Bryan. Notably, too, four 2024 CMT Next Women of Country members: Anne Wilson, Ella Langley, The Castellows and Tigirlily Gold (2x), who are all up for their first-ever awards.

Kelsea Ballerini, 2024

The evening’s most coveted award, “Video of the Year,” has voting that remains active into the live broadcast. An initial crop of 16 nominees will be whittled down to six nominees by April 1. The final three nominees from the second round of voting will be announced on show day, April 7.

Nominees for “Video of the Year” include Jelly Roll, Jordan Davis, and Parmalee, who all make their first-time appearances in the category. Kane Brown, who will vie for back-to-back titles this year with Mickey Guyton, will also be in the running.

Complete list of 2024 “CMT MUSIC AWARDS” nominees:


  • Ashley McBryde – “Light On In The Kitchen”
  • Brandy Clark feat. Brandi Carlile – “Dear Insecurity”
  • Brothers Osborne – “Nobody’s Nobody”
  • Cody Johnson – “The Painter”
  • Darius Rucker – “Fires Don’t Start Themselves”
  • HARDY – “Truck Bed”
  • Jason Aldean – “Let Your Boys Be Country”
  • Jelly Roll – “Need A Favor”
  • Jordan Davis – “Next Thing You Know”
  • Kacey Musgraves – “Deeper Well”
  • Kelsea Ballerini – “IF YOU GO DOWN (I’M GOIN’ DOWN TOO)”
  • Lainey Wilson – “Watermelon Moonshine”
  • Mickey Guyton feat. Kane Brown – “Nothing Compares To You”
  • Parmalee – “Gonna Love You”
  • Tyler Childers – “In Your Love”
  • Zach Bryan – “Nine Ball”


  • Ashley McBryde – “Light On In The Kitchen”
  • Gabby Barrett – “Glory Days”
  • Kacey Musgraves – “Deeper Well”
  • Kelsea Ballerini – “Penthouse”
  • Lainey Wilson – “Watermelon Moonshine”
  • Megan Moroney – “I’m Not Pretty”
  • Reba McEntire – “Seven Minutes In Heaven”


  • Bailey Zimmerman – “Religiously”
  • Cody Johnson – “The Painter”
  • HARDY – “Truck Bed”
  • Jelly Roll – “Need A Favor”
  • Jordan Davis – “Next Thing You Know”
  • Luke Combs – “Fast Car (Official Live Video)”
  • Morgan Wallen “Last Night (One Record At A Time Sessions)”
Luke Combs arrives on the red carpet for the taping of the CMT Giants: Vince Gill special at The Fisher Center for the Performing Arts in Nashville, Tenn., Monday, Sept. 12, 2022.


  • Brothers Osborne – “Nobody’s Nobody”
  • Dan + Shay – “Save Me The Trouble”
  • Old Dominion – “Memory Lane”
  • Parmalee – “Girl In Mine”
  • The War And Treaty – “Have You A Heart”
  • Tigirlily Gold – “Shoot Tequila”


  • Carly Pearce feat. Chris Stapleton – “We Don’t Fight Anymore”
  • Ella Langley feat. Koe Wetzel – “That’s Why We Fight”
  • Jon Pardi, Luke Bryan – “Cowboys And Plowboys”
  • Justin Moore & Priscilla Block – “You, Me And Whiskey”
  • Lukas Nelson + Promise of The Real feat. Lainey Wilson – “More Than Friends”
  • Mickey Guyton feat. Kane Brown – “Nothing Compares To You”
  • Old Dominion & Megan Moroney – “Can’t Break Up Now”
Brittney Spencer performs before Grace Potter at the Ryman Auditorium in Nashville, Tenn., Friday, Feb. 9, 2024.


  • Anne Wilson – “Rain In The Rearview”
  • Ashley Cooke – “your place”
  • Brittney Spencer – “Bigger Than The Song”
  • Tigirlily Gold – “Shoot Tequila”

BREAKTHROUGH MALE VIDEO OF THE YEAR, presented by Walt Disney World

  • Chayce Beckham – “23”
  • Tyler Childers – “In Your Love”
  • Warren Zeiders – “Pretty Little Poison”
  • Zach Bryan – “Oklahoma Smokeshow”


  • Amber Riley – “R.E.S.P.E.C.T.” (from CMT Smashing Glass)
  • Bret Michaels & Chris Janson – “Nothing But a Good Time” (from CMT Crossroads)
  • Carrie Underwood – “Hate My Heart” (from 2023 CMT Music Awards)
  • Cody Johnson – “Human” (from 2023 CMT Music Awards)
  • Dierks Bentley – “Drunk On A Plane” (from CMT Storytellers)
  • Dustin Lynch feat. MacKenzie Porter – “Thinking ‘Bout You” (from CMT Campfire Sessions)
  • Hozier & Maren Morris – “Take Me To Church” (from CMT Crossroads)
  • Jelly Roll – “Need a Favor” (from 2023 CMT Music Awards)
  • Kelsea Ballerini – “IF YOU GO DOWN (I’M GOIN’ DOWN TOO)” (from 2023 CMT Music Awards)
  • The War And Treaty – “On My Own” (from CMT Smashing Glass)
Tigirlily Gold, photographed at Dierks Bentley's Whiskey Row Saloon, July 11, 2023


  • Chase Rice – “Goodnight Nancy” (from CMT Studio Sessions)
  • Dylan Scott – “Don’t Close Your Eyes (Keith Whitley Cover)” (from CMT Digital Campfire Sessions)
  • Megan Moroney – “I’m Not Pretty” (from CMT Digital Campfire Sessions)
  • Nate Smith – “Whiskey On You” (from CMT Studio Sessions)
  • Scotty McCreery – “It Matters To Her” (from CMT Stages)
  • Stephen Wilson Jr. – “Year to Be Young 1994” (from CMT Studio Sessions)
  • The Castellows – “I Know It Will Never End” (from CMT Studio Sessions)

This post was originally published on this site



Rumi Awards is an AI enabled media & awards platform launched in April 2013

Similar Posts