Justine Triet Wins Best European Director At European Film Awards In Berlin – Updating Live – Deadline

3 minutes, 47 seconds Read

French director Justine Triet’s Cannes Palme d’Or winning film Anatomy Of A Fall topped the first awards at 36th European Film Awards in Berlin this evening, winning Best Director, Best Screenplay (with Arthur Harari) and Best Actress for Sandra Hüller.

It was strong selection this year with other films and directors leading the nominations including Aki Kaurismäki with Fallen Leaves, Agnieszka Holland with Green Border, Matteo Garrone with Me Captain, Jonathan Glazer with The Zone Of Interest.

The body’s 4,600 members – hailing from “geographical Europe” as well as Israel, Palestine and Russia, – voted on an official Academy Selection made up of 40 films selected by the European Academy Board and a group of experts.

In other early awards of the evening UK director Molly Manning Walker’s coming-of-age film, exploring the theme of consent through a group of girls who go on a clubbing holiday in Greece, won the European Discovery award for best first film.

Find & reserve investment properties in
Turkey or Dubai from the comfort of 
your home. 

Korean-Lithuanian producer Uljana Kim, whose recent credits include Sergei Loznitsa’s The Natural History Destruction received the Eurimage International Co-Production Award for “to mark her outstanding commitment to co-production”.

In honorary awards, Spanish director Isabel Coixet was presented with the European Achievement in World Cinema Award; Hungarian filmmaker Béla Tarr was feted with the Honorary Award Of The President and The Board and Vanessa Redgrave was celebrated with the European Lifetime Achievement award.

This year’s European Film Awards ceremony is unfolding against the backdrop of the second year of the Ukraine War as well as the Israel-Hamas conflict, the reverberations of which are being felt in Europe.

The event opened with a message of unity from the European Academy President Agnieszka Holland, Chair Mike Downey and CEO Matthijs Wouter Knol.

“We have Ukrainian, Russian, Israeli and Palestinian members… We want this to be a space to talk, to listen, to understand,” they said in a joint statement.

Deadline is following the ceremony live from Berlin. Check in here for live updates.

2023 European Film Awards Nominees and Winners – Winners in Bold

European Director

  • Justine Triet for Anatomy Of A Fall
  • Aki Kaurismäki for Fallen Leaves
  • Agnieszka Holland for Green Border
  • Matteo Garrone for Me Captain
  • Jonathan Glazer for The Zone Of Interest

European Screenwriter

  • Justine Triet & Arthur Harari for Anatomy Of A Fall
  • Aki Kaurismäki for Fallen Leaves
  • Maciej Pisuk, Gabriela Łazarkiewicz-Sieczko & Agnieszka Holland for Green Border
  • İlker Çatak & Johannes Duncker for The Teachers’ Lounge
  • Jonathan Glazer for The Zone Of Interest

European Actress

  • Sandra Hüller in Anatomy Of A Fall
  • Eka Chavleishvili in Blackbird Blackbird Blackberry
  • Alma Pöysti in Fallen Leaves
  • Mia McKenna-Bruce in How To Have Sex
  • Leonie Benesch In The Teachers’ Lounge
  • Sandra Hüller in The Zone Of Interest

European Actor

  • Thomas Schubert in Afire
  • Jussi Vatanen in Fallen Leaves
  • Josh O’Connor in La Chimera
  • Mads Mikkelsen in The Promised Land
  • Christian Friedel in The Zone Of Interest

Best Documentary

  • Apolonia, Apolonia (Denmark, Poland)
    Dir. Lea Glob
  • Four Daughters 
    Dir. by Kaouther Ben Hania (France, Tunisia, Germany, Saudi Arabia)
  • Motherland (Sweden, Ukraine, Norway)
    Dir. Hanna Badziaka & Alexander Mihalkovich (Sweden, Ukraine, Norway)
  • On The Adamant (France, Japan)
    Dir. Nicolas Philibert (France, Japan)
  • Smoke Sauna Sisterhood (Estonia, France, Iceland)
    Dir.  Anna Hints

European Discovery – Prix FIPRESCI

  • 20,000 Species Of Bees (Spain)
    Dir. Estibaliz Urresola Solaguren (Spain)
  • How To Have Sex (UK, Greece)
    Dir. Molly Manning Walker
  • La Palisiada (Ukraine)
    Dir. directed by Philip Sotnychenko (Ukraine)
  • Safe Place (Croatia, Slovenia)
    Dir. Juraj Lerotić
  • The Quiet Migration (Denmark)
    Dir. Malene Choi

Young Audience Award

  • Scrapper (UK)
    Dir. Charlotte Regan
  • Longing For The World
    Dir. Jenna Hasse
  • One In A Million
    Dir. Joya Thome

European Animated Feature Film

  • A Greyhound Of A Girl (Luxembourg, Italy, Ireland, United Kingdom, Latvia, Estonia, Germany)
    Dir. Enzo d’Alò
  • Chicken For Linda!
    Dir. Chiara Malta and Sébastien Laudenbach (France, Italy)
  • Robot Dreams (Spain, France)
    Dir. Pablo Berger
  • The Amazing Maurice (Germany, UK)
    Dir. Toby Genkel
  • White Plastic Sky (Hungary, Slovakia)
    Dir. Tibor Bánóczkia and Sarolta Szabó

Excellence Awards for arts and crafts (previously announced)

European Cinematography
Rasmus Videbæk for The Promised Land

European Editing
Laurent Sénéchal for Anatomy Of A Fall

European Production Design
Emita Frigato for La Chimera

European Costume Design
Kicki Ilander for The Promised Land

European Make-up & Hair
Ana López-Puigcerver, Belén López-Puigcerver, David Martí & Montse Ribé for Society Of The Snow

European Original Score:
Markus Binder for Club Zero

European Sound
Johnnie Burn & Tarn Willers for The Zone Of Interest

European Visual Effects
Félix Bergés, Laura Pedro for Society of The Snow

This post was originally published on this site



Rumi Awards is an AI enabled media & awards platform launched in April 2013

Similar Posts