Montgomery of Bruins wins Jack Adams Award as top coach in NHL –

1 minute, 22 seconds Read

NASHVILLE — Jim Montgomery of the Boston Bruins won the Jack Adams Award as NHL coach of the year at the 2023 NHL Awards at Bridgestone Arena on Monday.

Montgomery, who was hired June 30, 2022 to replace Bruce Cassidy, guided the Bruins to the most wins (65) and points (135) in a single season in NHL history. Boston, which won the Presidents’ Trophy for the best record in the regular season (65-12-5), had an .823 points percentage and a plus-128 goal differential, ranked first in goals against per game (2.12) and penalty-killing percentage (87.3), and was second in goals per game (3.66) and 12th on the power play (22.2 percent).

Boston had an NHL-record 14-game home winning streak from the start of the season and five winning streaks of at least seven games. The Bruins also became the fourth team in the modern era (since 1943-44) to lead a division all season.

Eleven players scored at least 10 goals for the Bruins during the regular season, led by David Pastrnak, who had an NHL career-high 61 and is a finalist for the Hart Trophy awarded to the most valuable player in the NHL.

Find & reserve investment properties in
Turkey or Dubai from the comfort of 
your home. 

The 53-year-old is the fifth Bruins coach to win the award and first since Cassidy in 2019-20.

Dave Hakstol of the Seattle Kraken and Lindy Ruff of the New Jersey Devils were the other finalists for the award, which was voted by members of the NHL Broadcasters’ Association prior to the start of the Stanley Cup Playoffs.

Earlier in the night, Bruins center Patrice Bergeron won the Selke Trophy as the best defensive forward for the sixth time, and Bruins goalie Linus Ullmark won the Vezina Trophy as the top goalie.

Related Images:

This post was originally published on this site



Rumi Awards is an AI enabled media & awards platform launched in April 2013

Similar Posts