Patti LuPone to Receive 2023 Oscar Hammerstein Award – Playbill


Patti LuPone to Receive 2023 Oscar Hammerstein Award

York Theatre Company will honor the three-time Tony winner at its 31st Oscar Hammerstein Gala.

Patti LuPone arrives at the 2022 Tony Awards
Heather Gershonowitz

The York Theatre Company is honoring Patti LuPone with the 2023 Oscar Hammerstein Award for Outstanding Achievement in Musical Theater. The three-time Tony winner will receive the award at the company’s 31st Oscar Hammerstein Gala November 13, which will also honor producer Jamie deRoy with the company’s Founders’ Award. The gala will be held at The Edison Rooftop. 

“We are—to quote our award’s namesake, Oscar Hammerstein—simply ‘bustin’ out all over’ with pride that Patti LuPone is this year’s Hammerstein Award recipient,” said James Morgan, The York’s Producing Artistic Director. “What an extraordinary career Patti has had, and how fitting that she’ll join the roster of musical theatre luminaries who have received this honor, beginning with Stephen Sondheim in 1988. We’re thrilled that Gerry McIntyre is putting together the evening for this Broadway legend, and to have Jamie deRoy as our Founders’ Award honoree makes this gala even more exciting and meaningful.”

Named for the iconic lyricist and librettist of American musical theatre, the award was created in 1988 by Janet Hayes Walker, York Theatre Company’s Founding Artistic Director. It is presented with endorsement from the Hammerstein family and the Rodgers and Hammerstein Organization. Past recipients include Stephen Sondheim, Harold Prince, John Kander and Fred Ebb, Terrence McNally, Cameron Mackintosh, Paul Gemignani, Lynn Ahrens and Stephen Flaherty, Angela Lansbury, Joel Grey, Susan Stroman, and André De Shields, among many others.

LuPone joins the roster with a robust list of awards and Broadway credits to her name. She has won three Tony awards for her performances in CompanyGypsy, and Evita. With a further five Tony nominations for War PaintWomen on the Verge of a Nervous BreakdownSweeney ToddAnything Goes, and The Robber Bridegroom, LuPone has over 30 Broadway productions to her name.

The York Theatre Company Founders’ Award is given to individuals who have made a significant impact on arts sustainability. DeRoy has worked to produce over 40 Broadway shows. She joins previous recipients Janet Hayes Walker, W. David McCoy, Sarah Tod Smith, Molly Grose, Robert Goldberg, Gerald F. Fisher, Betty Cooper Wallerstein, Riki Kane Larimer, Elisa Loti Stein, and Ted Chapin.


This post was originally published on this site