Rosalie Fish To Receive Wilma Rudolph Courage Award – University of Washington Athletics

1 minute, 42 seconds Read

Related Links

Story Links

SEATTLE – University of Washington student-athlete and advocate Rosalie Fish has been named the 2023 recipient of the Wilma Rudolph Courage Award, presented by the Women’s Sports Foundation. One of the most prestigious awards in all of sports, named to honor one of the most iconic barrier-breaking female athletes, the Wilma Rudolph Courage Award will be presented to Fish on October 12 in New York City, at the WSF’s Annual Salute to Women in Sports.
Recent winners of the Wilma Rudolph Courage Award include Elana Meyers Taylor, Naomi Osaka, and the Players of the WNBA. Jackie Joyner-Kersee was the first recipient of the award, in 1996.

Relevant excerpts from the Women’s Sports Foundation’s press release regarding Fish and the Wilma Rudolph Courage Award include:

The Wilma Rudolph Courage Award recognizes a female athlete or a team who exhibits extraordinary courage in their athletic performance, demonstrates the ability to overcome adversity, makes significant contributions to sports and serves as a role model. Rosalie Fish is a long-distance runner at the University of Washington, a member of the Cowlitz tribe, descendent of the Muckleshoot tribe, and an advocate for Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women (MMIW). Throughout her athletic journey, she has advocated for all Indigenous people, and raised awareness about violence against Indigenous women by dedicating her races to MMIW and running with a symbolic red handprint on her face to draw attention to this important issue.

“I am incredibly honored and humbled to receive the Wilma Rudolph Courage Award,” said Fish. “Getting to know the people at the Women’s Sports Foundation has introduced me to an organization of driven and passionate people who are devoted to equity. Being connected to my Indigenous community gives me the strength to defeat my fear, and our love for our people overcomes all obstacles. Thank you to the University of Washington for supporting me in my journey in advocacy.”

Find & reserve investment properties in
Turkey or Dubai from the comfort of 
your home. 

More information about WSF’s Annual Salute to Women in Sports, including table and ticket details and sponsorship opportunities, can be found here.

Print Friendly Version

This post was originally published on this site



Rumi Awards is an AI enabled media & awards platform launched in April 2013

Similar Posts