The Indiana Film Journalists Association Hand Out Their Film Awards for 2023 – Awards Daily

2 minutes, 23 seconds Read

In a record-setting performance, Yorgos Lanthimos’ Poor Things won more awards (seven) from The Indiana Film Journalists Association (IFJA) than any film in the history of the organization. Poor Things took the prize for Best Picture, Best Lead Performance (Emma Stone), Best Director (Lanthimos), Best Supporting Performance (Mark Ruffalo), Best Ensemble, Best Adapted Screenplay, and the Original Vision award (given to to the film the IFJA deems the most groundbreaking). Other films that are well represented as winners or runners up include Oppenheimer, Barbie, and Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse. The IFJA also announces its top ten films of the year along with winners in individual categories.

See the full list below.

Best Picture

Winner: Poor Things

Find & reserve investment properties in
Turkey or Dubai from the comfort of 
your home. 

Runner-up: Oppenheimer

Top Ten Films of the Year

Are You There God? It’s Me, Margaret.


The Holdovers

John Wick: Chapter 4

Killers of the Flower Moon

May December

Past Lives

Poor Things

Robot Dreams

Best Animated Film

Winner: Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse

Runner-up: Robot Dreams

Best Foreign Language Film

Winner: The Zone of Interest

Runner-up: Godzilla Minus One

Best Documentary Film

Winner: Kokomo City

Runner-up: 20 Days in Mariupol

Best Original Screenplay

Winner: David Hemingson, The Holdovers

Runner-up: Samy Burch (screenplay/story) and Alex Mechanik (story), May December

Best Adapted Screenplay

Winner: Tony McNamara, Poor Things 

Runner-up: Greta Gerwig and Noah Baumbach, Barbie

Best Director

Winner: Yorgos Lanthimos, Poor Things

Runner-up: Christopher Nolan, Oppenheimer

Best Lead Performance

Winner: Emma Stone, Poor Things

Runner-up: Cillian Murphy, Oppenheimer

Best Supporting Performance

Winner: Mark Ruffalo, Poor Things

Runner-up: Robert Downey, Jr., Oppenheimer

Best Vocal/Motion Capture Performance

Winner: Hailee Steinfeld, Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse

Runner-up: Shameik Moore, Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse

Best Ensemble Acting

Winner: Poor Things

Runner-up: Oppenheimer

Best Musical Score

Winner: Ludwig Göransson, Oppenheimer

Runner-up: Robbie Robertson, Killers of the Flower Moon

Breakout of the Year

Winner: Celine Song, Past Lives

Runner-up: Charles Melton, May December

Best Cinematography

Winner: Hoyte van Hoytema, Oppenheimer

Runner-up: Dan Laustsen, John Wick: Chapter 4

Best Editing

Winner: Jennifer Lame, Oppenheimer

Runner-up: Thelma Schoonmaker, Killers of the Flower Moon

Best Stunt/Movement Choreography

Winner: Jeremy Marinas (fight coordinator), Scott Rogers (stunt coordinator) and Stephen Levy (stunt choreographer), John Wick: Chapter 4

Runner-up: Jennifer White (choreographer) and Lisa Welham (associate choreographer), Barbie

Original Vision Award

Winner: Poor Things

Runner-up: Barbie

The Edward Johnson-Ott Hoosier Award*

Winner: Director Sam Mirpoorian, Greener Pastures

*As a special honor, no runner-up is named for the Hoosier Award. It is named after founding IFJA member and longtime NUVO Newsweekly critic Edward Johnson-Ott.

About IFJA: The Indiana Film Journalists Association was established in 2009 to celebrate cinema and promote quality film criticism in the Hoosier State. To be eligible for our awards, a film must have had a general release on any platform during the current calendar year, screened to IFJA critics in advance of a following year release date, or play in a major Indiana film festival. 

This post was originally published on this site



Rumi Awards is an AI enabled media & awards platform launched in April 2013

Similar Posts