TSPR wins three national journalism awards – Tri States Public Radio

Tri States Public Radio earned three awards in the annual competition held by the Public Media Journalists Association (PMJA).

Two of the awards came in the Photojournalism category. Jane Carlson earned first place for the lead photo for the story, “Celebrating C.T. Vivian.” Rich Egger received the second place award for the lead photo for the story, “A Mural is Better than a Brick Wall.”

In the Commentary category, TSPR received the first place award for “Justice Alito’s startling statement.” Guest commentator Polly Radosh authored the piece as part of the Women’s Voices commentary series.

PMJA describes itself as an organization that “supports, empowers and advocates for journalists working in public media. In that endeavor we seek to foster high ethical standards in the practice of journalism.”

PMJA announced the awards on Saturday. TSPR competed in the contest’s Division C. Divisions are based on staff size.

You can read the entire list of winners here.

This post was originally published on this site