2024 Dorian Film Award Winners Announced – Awards Radar

3 minutes, 50 seconds Read

Winners for the 15th annual Dorian Film Awards, hosted by GALECA: The Society of LGBTQ Entertainment Critics, were announced. Leading the pack is Andrew Haigh’s All of Us Strangers, which won three prizes, including Film of the Year.

In a statement, GALECA President Will Hickey said the following about the film, “Twelve years ago, Andrew Haigh’s fresh and observant queer romance Weekend ruled our Dorians as well. So the fact that Strangers obviously touched many of our members’ hearts as well counts as sort of a sweet homecoming to our organization.”

Here is the full list of winners:

Film of the Year

All of Us Strangers (Searchlight) – WINNER
Barbie (Warner Bros.)
May December (Netflix) 
Past Lives (A24) 
Poor Things (Searchlight)

Find & reserve investment properties in
Turkey or Dubai from the comfort of 
your home. 

LGBTQ Film of the Year

All of Us Strangers (Searchlight) – WINNER
Bottoms (MGM)
Passages (MUBI, SBS)
Rustin (Netflix)
Saltburn (Amazon MGM) 

Director of the Year

Greta Gerwig, Barbie (Warner Bros.) – WINNER
Andrew Haigh, All of Us Strangers (Searchlight)
Todd Haynes, May December (Netflix)
Christopher Nolan, Oppenheimer (Universal)
Celine Song, Past Lives (A24)

Screenplay of the Year

Noah Baumbach and Greta Gerwig, Barbie (Warner Bros.)
Samy Burch, May December (Netflix) – WINNER
Andrew Haigh, All of Us Strangers (Searchlight)
Arthur Harari and Justine Triet, Anatomy of a Fall (NEON)
Celine Song, Past Lives (A24) 

LGBTQ Screenplay of the Year 

Andrew Haigh, All of Us Strangers (Searchlight) – WINNER
Arthur Harari and Justine Triet, Anatomy of a Fall (NEON)
Dustin Lance Blackand Julian Breece, Rustin (Netflix)
Arlette Langmann, Ira Sachs and Mauricio Zacharias, Passages (MUBI)
Emma Seligman and Rachel Sennott, Bottoms (MGM)

Non-English Language Film of the Year

Anatomy of a Fall (NEON) – WINNER 
The Boy and the Heron (GKIDS, Toho)
Godzilla Minus One (Toho)
Past Lives (A24)
The Zone of Interest (A24)

LGBTQ Non-English Language Film of the Year

Afire (Janus Films, Sideshow)
Anatomy of a Fall (NEON) – WINNER
Cassandro (Amazon MGM)
Monster (Well Go USA, Gaga, Toho)
Rotting in the Sun (MUBI)

Unsung Film of the Year

To an exceptional movie worthy of greater attention

Are You There, God? It’s Me, Margaret (Lionsgate) – WINNER
Monica (IFC)
Origin (NEON)
Theater Camp (Searchlight)
A Thousand and One (Focus Features)

Film Performance of the Year

Colman Domingo, Rustin (Netflix)
Paul Giamatti, The Holdovers (Focus Features)
Lily Gladstone, Killers of the Flower Moon (Apple) – WINNER
Sandra Hüller, Anatomy of a Fall (NEON)
Greta Lee, Past Lives (A24)
Trace Lysette, Monica (IFC)
Cillian Murphy, Oppenheimer (Universal)
Natalie Portman, May December (Netflix)
Andrew Scott, All of Us Strangers (Searchlight)
Emma Stone, Poor Things (Searchlight)

Supporting Film Performance of the Year

Danielle Brooks, The Color Purple (Warner Bros.)
Robert Downey Jr., Oppenheimer (Universal)
Jodie Foster, Nyad (Netflix)
Claire Foy, All of Us Strangers (Searchlight)
Ryan Gosling, Barbie (Warner Bros.) 
Rachel McAdams, Are You There, God? It’s Me, Margaret (Lionsgate)
Charles Melton, May December (Netflix) – WINNER
Paul Mescal, All of Us Strangers (Searchlight)
Rosamund Pike, Saltburn (Amazon MGM)
Da’Vine Joy Randolph, The Holdovers (Focus Features)

Documentary of the Year

American Symphony (Netflix)
Beyond Utopia (Roadside Attractions, Fathom Events)
Kokomo City (Magnolia) – WINNER
Still: A Michael J. Fox Movie (Apple TV+)
20 Days in Mariupol (PBS Distribution)

LGBTQ Documentary of the Year

Every Body (Focus Features) 
Going to Mars: The Nikki Giovanni Project (HBO, Confluential Films)
Kokomo City (Magnolia) – WINNER
Little Richard: I Am Everything (Magnolia)
Orlando, My Political Biography (Janus Film, Sideshow)

Animated Film of the Year

The Boy and the Heron (GKIDS, Toho) – WINNER
Elemental (Disney)
Nimona (Netflix, Annapurna)
Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse (Sony)
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Mutant Mayhem (Paramount)

Genre Film of the Year 

For excellence in science fiction, fantasy and horror

All of Us Strangers (Searchlight)
Godzilla Minus One (Toho)
M3GAN (Universal)
Poor Things (Searchlight) – WINNER
Talk To Me (A24)

Film Music of the Year

Barbie — Mark Ronson, Andrew Wyatt, et al. (Warner Bros.) – WINNER
The Boy and the Heron — Joe Hisaishi (GKIDS, Toho)
The Color Purple — Stephen Bray, Allee Willis, Brenda Russell, Kris Bowers, et al. (Warner Bros.)
Oppenheimer — Ludwig Göransson (Universal) 
The Zone of Interest — Mica Levi (A24)

Visually Striking Film of the Year

Asteroid City (Focus Features)
Barbie (Warner Bros.)
Oppenheimer (Universal)
Poor Things (Searchlight) – WINNER
Spider-Man: Across The Spider-Verse (Sony)

Campiest Flick

Barbie (Warner Bros.)
Bottoms (MGM)
Dicks: The Musical (A24)
M3GAN (Universal) – WINNER
Saltburn (Amazon MGM)

“We’re Wilde About You!” Rising Star Award

Ayo Edebiri – WINNER
Lily Gladstone
Jacob Elordi
Charles Melton
Dominic Sessa

Wilde Artist Award

To a truly groundbreaking force in entertainment

Quinta Brunson
Ayo Edebiri
Greta Gerwig
Lily Gladstone
Todd Haynes – WINNER

GALECA LGBTQIA+ Film Trailblazer Award 

For creating art that inspires empathy, truth and equity

Colman Domingo – WINNER
Jodie Foster
Andrew Haigh
Todd Haynes
Andrew Scott

Timeless Star 

Honoring an exemplary career marked by character, wisdom and wit

Jodie Foster

Source: The Hollywood Reporter

This post was originally published on this site



Rumi Awards is an AI enabled media & awards platform launched in April 2013

Similar Posts